Myers-Briggs Type Indicator


While the Myer's Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) uses 16 psychological type patterns, Temperament refers to four specific combinations of the MBTI's scales to provide a framework for determining predispositions toward favored or natural tendencies in human behavior.

Temperament is based on the work of Kiersey and Bates, who felt that each of the 16 psychological preferences could be categorized into one of four temperament types.

Temperament speaks to a pattern of core psychological needs, values, talents and behaviors, all which are interrelated. When our core needs are met, we have a greater capacity to function at our best with more energy. Each of the four temperaments is driven by different core needs and is naturally adept at particular skills.

Understanding your temperament, including core needs, values, talents, and behaviors can help you to work at your best and flourish academically.

Further descriptions of the four temperaments can be accessed by the clicking on the links to Guardian, Artisan, Idealist and Rationalist. Implications for each temperament in the classroom and tips for studying and succeeding in college are also presented.

The four temperaments are summarized as follows:

Temperament Core Needs Skills
(SJ - Sensing Judging)
Membership & belonging,
Responsibility & duty
Logistics - organizing, planning, facilitating, inspecting, supporting
(SP - Sensing Perceiving)
Freedom & action,
Ability to make an impact,
Excitement & variation
Tactics - composing, producing, motivating, operating, executing, performing
(NF - Intuitive Feeling)
Identity & Self-Actualization,
Meaning & significance
Diplomacy - clarifying, unifying, individualizing, inspiring, mediating
(NT - Intuitive Thinking)
Knowledge & competence,
Willpower & mastery
Strategy - engineering, conceptualizing, theorizing, coordinating, designing

© 2016 Western Nevada College
Privacy Policy | Important Notices | Title IX | WNC en Español | Home
Information: 775-445-3000
General Questions: