Admissions and Records
Western Nevada College allows any adult who can benefit from instruction to enroll, regardless of residency status. Although the tuition and fees will vary depending on residency status, all adults are welcome to attend Western Nevada College.
Admissions and Records staff is available to assist students with residency regulations and to answer any residency questions. Please call 775-445-3277 for assistance.
There are a number of factors used to determine residency. In most cases, an individual who is financially independent must reside in Nevada as a bona fide resident (definition below) for a minimum of twelve consecutive months prior to the date of matriculation (the beginning date of the first semester of enrollment) to be considered a Nevada resident for tuition purposes. The individual must also be a U.S. citizen or hold a Permanent Resident card. For a financially dependent student, the student's spouse, family, or legal guardian must be a bona fide legal resident of the state of Nevada for at least twelve consecutive months prior to the date of matriculation and must be a U.S. citizen or hold a Permanent Resident card.
There are exceptions which allow some individuals who do not meet the 12 month requirement to obtain residency. Some of the exceptions include:
A bona fide Nevada resident is defined as an independent person who has continuous physical presence in the state of Nevada for a minimum of twelve consecutive months prior to matriculation, having clearly abandoned any former residence and who has no ties to any other state and who has the intent to permanently reside in the state of Nevada. In general, an individual is expected to surrender his/her driver's license or state ID card from his/her previous state and obtain a Nevada driver's license (as required by Nevada law) or state ID card within 30 days of moving to Nevada to be considered a bona fide resident. For a dependent person, the family, spouse or legal guardian must have physical presence in the state of Nevada for a minimum of 12 consecutive months prior to the student's matriculation with no ties to any other state, with the intent to permanently reside in Nevada.
A dependent is defined as a person who is not financially independent and is claimed as an exemption for federal income tax purposes under Section 152 of the Internal Revenue Code by another person for the most recent year. Family is defined as natural or legally adoptive parent(s) of a dependent person, or if one parent has legal custody of a dependent person, that parent.
Date of matriculation is the first day of instruction in which the semester or term in which enrollment of a student first occurs (excluding community education courses). This is applicable regardless of the actual start date of a course a student enrolls in. A student has matriculated if he/she enrolls for a course and does not withdraw before the 100% refund period or has a record of previous enrollment at Western Nevada College.
A student who does not meet the criteria for Nevada bona fide residency is considered a nonresident and must pay nonresident fees. Students who do not qualify for Nevada residency, regardless of time spent in the state of Nevada: Dependent students whose parents or family are not residents of Nevada or non-U.S. citizens who do not have a permanent resident card. Only current enrollees or graduates of a Nevada high school may be considered a Nevada resident regardless of citizenship or Permanent Resident status.
A student who has been classified as a non-resident who matriculated to WNC shall continue to be classified as a nonresident student throughout the student's enrollment, unless and until the student demonstrates that his or her previous residence has been abandoned and that student is a bona fide Nevada resident. A student must fill out a Residency Reclassification Application and provide documentation of:
When a student has been reclassified to resident student status, the reclassification shall become effective at the registration immediately following the reclassification decision. No reclassification under these regulations shall give rise to any claim for refund of tuition already paid or owed from a previous semester.
The Nevada System of Higher Education has discontinued the Good Neighbor reduced tuition policy due to state budget cuts. However, any students who currently have Good Neighbor status will continue to pay reduced tuition as long as they are continuously enrolled.
Students who have enrolled as Children of Alumni or WICHE/WUE may not be reclassified as a in-state resident until the student disenrolls from the applicable program and pays full nonresident tuition for at least 12 months or does not take any courses at a NSHE institution for at least 12 months from the time the student moved to Nevada. An application for reclassification must be submitted.
All residency regulations are subject to change by the Board of Regents. Changes become effective immediately upon such approval for all students. Regulations for determining Nevada residency for tuition charges are outlines in the Board of Regents handbook, Title 4, Chapter 15.
If you are a new student who has not yet matriculated and believe your residency stats has been classified incorrectly, you may submit the Initial Residency Review Application with appropriate documentation to WNC Admissions and Records.
If you would like to be considered for reclassification from a nonresident to a resident, submit the Nevada Residency Reclassification Application to Admissions and Records.
If you have any questions about residency please call Admissions and Records at 775-445-3277.