New drivers can prepare for the challenges of driving (and driver license testing) in the Western Nevada College Driver’s Education Program. The program offers both in person and online course options, and both options meet the Department of Motor Vehicles’ training requirements to obtain a Nevada driver’s license.
In-Person Driver Education Class
This course meets 4 days for 30 total hours of classroom training, and is open to students age 15 and older. The course uses lectures, videos and interactive activities to teach Nevada driving regulations, basic vehicle control, and driving maneuvers in various environments and situations. The comprehensive course also discusses the added challenges of inexperience. Guest speakers bring a wealth of knowledge in the areas of traffic safety, car maintenance and insurance.
A half-hour lunch break is provided during the day. Students must bring their lunch as college food services are not available.
Please Note: This is a non-refundable class and payment is due at time of registration.
Online Driver Education Class
This fully online course fulfills the state of Nevada DMV’s requirement for 30 hours of classroom instruction for teen driver’s education. The program offers a unique, fun curriculum that takes the “dull” out of Driver Education. Throughout this course, we use pictures, videos, graphs and quizzes to keep students engaged and ensure they absorb the important information.
5 Hour Online Traffic Safety Course
Our 5-hour online traffic safety course, approved by the Nevada DMV, will allow you to remove up to 3 points from your driving record or satisfy a court order in the case of a traffic violation. It will also help you to become a more knowledgeable, confident driver while gaining valuable driving skills. This course is open to licensed Nevada drivers who have not taken a traffic safety course in the past 12 months and have more than 11 points on their record. Once you complete the course, you will receive a Certificate of Completion via mail and we will notify the DMV.
8 Hour Online Traffic Safety Course
Our 8-hour online traffic safety course, approved by the Nevada DMV, will allow you to remove up to 3 points from your driving record or satisfy a court order in the case of a traffic violation. It will also help you to become a more knowledgeable, confident driver while gaining valuable driving skills. This course is open to licensed Nevada drivers who have not taken a traffic safety course in the past 12 months and have more than 11 points on their record. Once you complete the course, you will receive a Certificate of Completion via mail and we will notify the DMV.
Do you offer behind-the-wheel training?
At this time, we do not offer behind-the-wheel training.
Should I take a teen driver education class before or after I get my driver’s permit?
That’s up to you! Students are not required to take driver’s education before applying for their permit, but the course will help prepare them for the written test that they must pass before receiving their Instructional Permit. Students must have an Instructional Permit for at least 90 days before receiving their driver’s license.
Thirty hours of classroom training is required by the Nevada DMV for teens to obtain a driver’s license. Both of our courses fulfill that requirement.
How old does a student have to be to take the teen driver education course?
For our in-person course, students must be at least 15 years old by the last day of the class.
For our online course, students must be at least 15 years old before enrolling.
What is the difference between the online course and in-person teen driver education courses?
Both courses meet the State of Nevada DMV’s requirements for teens to obtain a driver’s license. The online course offers greater flexibility for students with busy schedules, as they can work on the course anytime from anywhere with a computer and an internet connection.
The in-person course offers more structure for teens who prefer face-to-face instruction. Our experienced instructors keep students engaged and on-task, and we bring in speakers from the community to help prepare teens for the responsibilities of driving.
Do I get an insurance discount for completing classes?
Most insurance companies will provide students with a discount for taking one driver education course through us. Students should check with their insurance provider to clarify their individual policy.
How many hours per day can I spend on the online teen driver education class?
You will have up to 6 hours per day to actively work on your course.
Are homeschooled students still required to take the teen driver education?
Yes. All students must take this course in order to receive their driver’s license, unless there is not a course available within a 30-mile radius of their residence.
What if there is not a teen driver education course available within a 30-mile radius of my residence?
You make take the course online, or you may complete an additional 50 hours of driving experience (for a total of 100 hours).
What are the computer requirements for the online courses?
Any computer with internet access will be able to access our online courses. We recommend Google Chrome when accessing our courses, as it will provide the best view of our materials, though most any other browser will work just fine.
What happens when I finish my traffic safety course and pass the final exam?
We will e-mail you a Notarized Statement of Completion form, which you will then need to mail, e-mail or fax back to our partners, All Star Driver Education. Once we have received a completed Notarized Statement from you, we will mail your Certificate of Completion (DS-305).
If I'm taking a traffic safety course, to fulfill a plea bargain or court order, do you contact the court on my behalf?
No. You will need to sign the certificate you receive in the mail and contact the court that issued the order.
Can you rush my traffic safety completion certificate to me?
Yes. We can mail your certificate priority for $30, or overnight for $75. (These prices are subject to change.) To request a rush certificate, call (800) 967-7719