New Driver Education courses for teens age 15 and older will be offered by Western Nevada College throughout the spring. Each session includes four days of instruction, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Cost: $100.
Three classes will meet on the WNC Carson City Campus Saturdays, Feb. 21-March 14, Monday-Thursday, April 6-9 (Carson High School spring break) and Saturdays, April 18-May 9.
Two spring classes will be offered in Douglas County on Saturdays, Feb. 28-March 21, at the Eastfork Fire Station on Stephanie Lane, and Monday-Thursday, April 6-9 (Douglas High School spring break) at the Douglas Western Nevada College Campus at 1680 Bently Parkway, Minden.
Young drivers will learn safe driving techniques through lectures, class discussion, guest speakers, and films that cover Nevada driving regulations, basic vehicle control, and driving maneuvers in various situations and environments. Nevada state law requires new drivers under age 18 to take a 30-hour New Driver Education course if one is offered within 30 miles of their home.
In addition to Nevada driving regulations, the course covers how to handle distractions, peer pressure, and how to prevent falling asleep at the wheel and driving under the influence. Speakers include public safety officials and insurance representatives. Instruction includes tips on how to drive safely around large trucks and motorcycles and avoid unexpected objects in the road, as well as maneuvering safely through roundabouts and rules for driving in bad weather.
To register for the non-credit class go to https://www.wnc.edu/drivereducation/. For more information call 445-4458.
Economic Development and Continuing Education
Driver Education Coordinator
2201 W. College Parkway
Carson City, NV 89703